Katelaben

From a text I wrote (to myself) as I studied God’s Word a long time ago, and I thought some of you might find it a bit interesting:
John 1:5
“The word translated “comprehend” in the NASB at John 1:5 is a mistranslation in my opinion.
Below, I have listed the word and its roots (using Strong’s numbers). In my copy of Strong’s, there is a mistake [a printing error, in fact]. The second part of the word should read G2983, lambano (take), but it is given as (it looks like) G1983, episkopeo (oversee). [The “2” is misprinted in the original publication, and has been misread for a “1”.]
“G2638 – katelaben = take eagerly, seize or possess.
G2596 – kata = down, opposition, intensity
G2983 – lambano = take, grasp
“It only makes sense that the darkness has not “withstood” the light.”

Strong's excerpts re: Katelaben.

Strong’s excerpts re: Katelaben.

The Complete Jewish Bible translation (An English Version of the Tanakh (Old Testament) and B’rit Hadashah (New Testament) by David H. Stern) has it about right, with “The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not suppressed it.” [John 1:5 CJB.] Basically, it’s military, meaning to overcome (with force), withstand (an onslaught), or defeat (an enemy).
Alright, I’m a detail-oriented person. But I don’t like the loss of nuance that such mistakes leave us! It makes Scripture sound nonsensical!
I think it’s important that we understand that we are the light of the world [Matthew 5:14], and the gates of Hades cannot withstand the onslaught of our obedience as the Church to “Go!” [Matthew 16:18] The light is aggressive, penetrating, revelatory, cleansing. The darkness must flee!
The light isn’t something to be misunderstood by the darkness! This is dynamic power we’re talking about!
Amen!

Leave a comment